National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated (NPHC)

The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated (NPHC) is currently composed of nine (9) International Greek letter Sororities and Fraternities: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. NPHC promotes interaction through forums, meetings and other mediums for the exchange of information and engages in cooperative programming and initiatives through various activities and functions.

On May 10, 1930, on the campus of Howard University, in Washington DC, the National Pan-Hellenic Council was formed as a permanent organization with the following charter members: Omega Psi Phi and Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternities, and Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta and Zeta Phi Beta Sororities. In 1931, Alpha Phi Alpha and Phi Beta Sigma Fraternities joined the Council. Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority joined in 1937 and Iota Phi Theta Fraternity completed the list of member organizations in 1997.

The stated purpose and mission of the organization in 1930 was “Unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations.” Early in 1937, the organization was incorporated under the laws of the State of Illinois and became known as “The National Pan-Hellenic Council, Incorporated.”

1906 Cornell University Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity

1908 Howard University Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority

1911 Indiana University Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity

1911 Howard University Omega Psi Phi Fraternity

1913 Howard University Delta Sigma Theta Sorority

1914 Howard University Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity

1920 Howard University Zeta Phi Beta Sorority

1922 Butler University Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority

1963 Morgan State University Iota Phi Theta Fraternity

Here at the University of Minnesota, The National Pan-Hellenic Council consists of seven of the nine organizations and they are: the Mu Rho Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., the Mu Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., the Nu Epsilon Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., the Kappa Pi Chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., the Psi Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., the Pi Eta Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., and the Xi Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. The University of Minnesota's National Pan-Hellenic Council was chartered of September 27, 2016.

Show More


Cydney Coleman

National Pan-Hellenic Council President

Member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Yasmine Nur

National Pan-Hellenic Council Treasurer

Member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Damola Badewa

National Pan-Hellenic Council Secretatry

Member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Eric Dormoh

National Pan-Hellenic Council Vice President

Member of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

17 Appleby Hall, 128 Pleasant St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2020 by BeGreek at UMN