top of page

Diversity, Inclusion, and Accessibility

The University of Minnesota Panhellenic Council is committed to making our community a more inviting place for anyone who wants to be a part of it. Greek life was founded on discriminatory practices and has historically been very exclusive. We recognize that it is time for change. We are not perfect, and there is still a lot of work to be done, but we are working on taking actions that will lead to positive change.


Many of our Panhellenic chapters have implemented a position related to promoting inclusivity and educating members about different topics related to diversity, equity, and accessibility. While the titles and exact responsibilities of this position varies from chapter to chapter, our community is grateful to have them. The Panhellenic Council also created the Vice President of Diversity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DIA) position in 2021, and the position has been added to our Junior Panhellenic Council as well. Our VP of DIA holds roundtables with members of each chapter at least once per semester to discuss ideas for improving on both a chapter and Panhellenic level. Additionally, we've created the DIA Committee to allow any member of a chapter to contribute.

Land Acknowledgement:

We, the Panhellenic Council at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, want to acknowledge that we gather as sorority women on Indigenous land of the Dakota people. Between the years of 1837 and 1867, the Indigenous people in Minnesota, the Dakota and the Ojibwe, negotiated many treaties involving ceding land. In exchange for the ceded land, the federal government promised them the right to hunt, fish, and gather, as well as monetary payments. As a result, the Dakota and Ojibwe relinquished millions of acres of their land, and the promises made by the US Government were never honored. Tribal nations were forcibly displaced and many were killed by colonizers. The washing of Native culture and history continues to promote an inaccurate portrayal of American history.


We understand that this statement is only a starting point and not the solution. The Panhellenic community is committed to recognizing and supporting the Indigenous community. 

bottom of page